Board of Directors

Nanosonics is fortunate to have a highly professional & engaged Board of Directors who seek to deliver outstanding results for all stakeholders in our company.

The Board

Steven Sargent BBus, FAICD, FTSE

Non-executive Director and Chairman
Mr Sargent joined the Nanosonics Board in July 2016 and was appointed Chairman in July 2022. He has a 22-year career with General Electric and has extensive global experience across a range of industries, including financial services and healthcare. He was Vice President and Officer of GE, a member of GE’s Corporate Executive Council and CEO of GE Australia NZ. Mr Sargent is currently a Director of Origin Energy, Chairman of OFX Group, a Director of the Great Barrier Reef Foundation and Chairman of The Origin Foundation. Previously, Mr Sargent was a Director of Veda Group, a Director of Bond University and a Director of the Business Council of Australia.

Michael Kavanagh BSc, MBA (Advanced)

CEO, President and Managing Director
Mr Kavanagh joined Nanosonics as CEO and President effective October 2013. He was a Non-executive Director of the Board from July 2012 to October 2013. Mr Kavanagh has more than 26 years of international commercial experience in the healthcare market, having held local, regional and global roles in medical device and pharmaceutical industries. Before joining Nanosonics, he was Senior Vice President of Global Marketing for the major medical device company Cochlear Ltd, a position he held for more than 10 years. In the last three years Mr Kavanagh has held no other directorships

Marie McDonald BSc (Hons), LLB (Hons)

Non-executive Director
Ms McDonald joined the Nanosonics Board in October 2016, bringing with her a strong background in corporate and commercial law, having practised for many years as a partner at Ashurst. Ms McDonald was Chair of the Corporations Committee of the Business Law Section of the Law Council of Australia (2012 to 2013) and was a member of the Australian Takeovers Panel from 2001 to 2010. Ms McDonald is currently a Non-executive Director of CSL Limited, Nufarm Limited and the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research.

Lisa McIntyre BSc (Hons), PhD

Non-executive Director
Dr McIntyre joined the Nanosonics Board in November 2019. Her executive background is in strategy, particularly in the areas of medical technology and healthcare, with many years as a partner at L.E.K. Consulting in the US and Australia where she led the Asia Pacific Health practice. She is currently a director of Fisher and Paykel Healthcare (ASX: FPH), a Senate Fellow of the University of Sydney and a Non-executive Director of Studiosity Pty Ltd. Dr McIntyre was a Director of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research for 12 years and was a Non-executive Director of HCF Group for a 12-year period, where she was Chairman of the HCF Research Foundation and Director of HCF Life.

David Fisher BRurSc (Hons), MAppFin, PhD, FFin, GAICD

Non-executive Director
Dr Fisher has been a member of the Board since July 2001. Dr Fisher is a founding partner of Brandon Capital Partners, a leading Australian venture capital provider. He has more than 35 years’ extensive operating experience in the biotechnology and healthcare industry in Australia and overseas. He held senior positions with Pharmacia AB (now part of Pfizer, Inc) and was CEO of Peptech Limited (now part of Cephalon Inc. (Nasdaq:CEPH). He has not held any directorships of other listed companies in the last 3 years.

Geoff Wilson AICD, BCom, ICCA, CPA, US CPA

Non-executive Director
Mr Wilson joined the Board in July 2019. He has a breadth of local and international executive leadership and director experience together spanning more than 37 years, including many years with KPMG in Australia, Hong Kong and the USA. He has a strong background in finance, audit and risk management, as well as in Asia Pacific markets. Mr Wilson is currently a Director of TOLL Holdings Limited, HSBC Bank Australia Limited, Future Generation Global Investment Company Limited, ipSCAPE, and Sydney Symphony Limited. He is also an Ambassador for the Australian Indigenous Education Foundation.

Tracey Batten MBBS, MBA, FAICD

Non-executive Director
Dr Batten joined the Board in September 2023. Dr Batten brings over 30 years’ experience in the healthcare sector gained in non-executive and executive roles, and medical practitioner and clinical roles. Dr Batten was CEO of Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust in the UK, St Vincent’s Health Australia, Eastern Health and Dental Health Services Victoria. Dr Batten was also Non-executive Director of Abano Healthcare Group Ltd (NZX Listed) and in various other healthcare related research institutes, charities and industry and government bodies. Dr Batten is currently a Non-executive Director of Medibank Private Ltd, the EBOS Group Limited (NZX Listed), the Accident Compensation Corporation (a NZ Crown insurance scheme and investment fund) and the National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research (a NZ Crown Research Institute).

Larry Marshall BSc (Hons), PhD, FAICD, FTSE, FAIP, Federation Fellow

Non-executive Director
Dr Marshall joined the Board in October 2023. Dr Marshall is a technology innovator, physicist and business leader. Until July 2023, Dr Marshall was Chief Executive of CSIRO for eight and a half years, where he led the first growth in 30 years and doubled the value delivered to stakeholders. During his 26 years in the United States, Dr Marshall co-founded 6 successful companies in a range of markets including medical device which went public. Over the past 30 years, he has served as CEO/MD of 6 companies, and Chairman of 4. He was MD, then co-Chairman of Arasor which he took public in 2006. In 2007, Dr Marshall became MD of Southern Cross Venture Partners, a Silicon Valley VC firm specialising in Australian innovation. He has been a director of 20 private sector boards in Australia and the United States, including boards of 2 companies that were subsequently publicly listed.